Legal Age for Sitting in Front Seat of Car
Four to eight years old: Booster seats must be used between 4 and 8 years of age for children over 40 pounds and under 4 feet 9 inches. Booster seats are designed to be used when a child reaches 40 pounds, usually between 4 and 5 years old. Children who are heavier or taller than the limits of a forward-facing car seat should upgrade to increased belt positioning. According to Colorado law, children under the age of 8 must use a child restraint system. Whether this child restraint system has a harness (many child restraint systems have weight restrictions of 50 or 65 pounds) or a booster seat, it`s up to you. You certainly have a choice of the type of seat you use to meet the legal requirements, but you only have to continue using a child restraint system until the age of 8. Some car seats (with straps) are only designed for 40 pounds. If this is the case with your seat, you can either use another seat with a higher weight restriction or use a booster seat, provided the child meets the height, weight and age requirements for the seat. Remember that each time a child moves on to the next type of restraint, the level of protection decreases. It is recommended that you hold your child in a five-point harness until they reach the upper height or weight limit set by the car seat manufacturer. Colorado law requires infants under 1 year of age and under 20 lbs to drive in the back seat; There are no exceptions.
If your child is over a year old and weighs more than 20 pounds, it`s legal to get in the passenger seat of a van with a cab – but it`s not recommended. If you must do so, make sure that the vehicle seat is as far away from the airbag as possible and that your child is firmly attached to their car seat and that the car seat is properly installed in your vehicle. NEVER place a rear-facing child restraint system in front of an active airbag. Can my child ride in a high-back booster seat at age 3 if they are taller than the straps of their current five-point harness seat? Adult seats: Once children reach the age of 8 and/or exceed the upper height and weight limits of their booster seats, they can sit alone in the car seats. Children must remain in the back seat until at least the age of 13. Most cars are equipped with this information to recall views or other places in the vehicle, especially when it comes to the danger that front airbags pose to children, teenagers and other smaller or younger bodies. In Texas, children can only use a seat belt if they are 8 years old or older. The National Safety Council recommends that a child also be taller than 4`9″, weigh more than 80 pounds and be over 12 years old before getting into the front seat, although Texas law does not require this.
In the United States, and Texas in particular, widespread information about child seats in motor vehicles has caused a great deal of confusion. This is largely due to the fact that guidelines have been established for these standards, as opposed to more consistent regulations or legislation. Yes, car seat use laws vary from state to state in the United States. Every state and territory in the United States requires child seats for infants and children that meet certain criteria. However, the requirements for each condition vary depending on age, weight, and height. Additional guidelines added to these baseline guidelines are published by organizations such as the American Academy of Pediatrics, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, and the Texas Department of State Health Department. Have car seat laws changed recently? I`ve heard that weight and rear-facing restrictions have changed. Proper installation of car seats is extremely important. Be sure to read the manufacturer`s instructions for the seat and make sure that the method used to attach it in your vehicle is compatible. When securing the seat and child, make sure that all straps are tightened to the correct tension, that the seat components are properly locked, that there are no hanging or misplaced parts, and that all other applicable adjustments are correct.
Rear-facing seat: These seats are designed to suit age at birth up to about 2 years or whenever the child reaches 40 pounds. There are two versions of these car seats, only for toddlers and convertibles. Keeping children in rear-facing seats for as long as possible should be the goal, as this is the safest way to drive. Many manufacturers design these types of seats with a weight limit of forty pounds so that children can easily continue to ride in these seats after their second birthday. Colorado law requires children under 1 year of age and weighing less than 20 pounds to ride in the back seat. However, the safest practice is to keep children in the back seat until the age of 13. 8 years and older: Once the weight and height requirements for booster seats are met, children can sit in adult car seats. Your child can stop using a booster seat between the ages of 8 and 12 once they are 4 feet 9 inches tall. Essentially, booster seats should be used until your child can safely wear an adult seat belt, with the lap straps and shoulder straps in a comfortable position. The most important change, which took place on 1. The coming into force in August 2011 of the expanded Seat Expansion Act, which stipulates that children must ride in child restraints up to the age of 8 (and in reality, whether it is a booster seat or another child restraint system depends on the parent).
However, safety experts recommend that children continue to use booster seats until the seat belt adjusts properly. Parents and guardians can refer to the 5-step test* (listed in the second question above) to determine the right fit. The American Academy of Pediatrics and NHTSA recently stated that infants should be rear-facing for as long as possible until they reach the maximum size or weight limit of their convertible car seat, but that`s not a law. Colorado law requires infants to drive rear-end at least 1 year and 20 pounds (minimum!), and they must be placed in the back seat of the vehicle. Do I need to replace my car seat after an accident? Strap all children up to 12 years old in the back seat. Canadian Child Passenger Safety Week 2022 will take place September 18-24. Make sure your child`s seat is properly installed and appropriate for age, weight and height. If your child weighs more than 40 pounds before the age of 4, they will be best protected by using a five-point harness in a child seat with a higher maximum weight. Be sure to consider the child`s age, weight, height and behavioural maturity before putting them in a booster seat. Seat belts: Integrated seat belts are designed for adults, but once a child reaches a height of at least 4`9″, they are large enough for the seat belt design to be effective for safety. Seat belts are one of the most effective safety measures in modern vehicles, and wearing seat belts improves the survival rate of passengers in car accidents by 50%. The straps should be worn on the body, with the lap belt placed on the hip and the shoulder strap on the front center of the chest and on the shoulder.
All car occupants are required by law to wear seat belts in Texas. The increased safety they offer to all passengers is undeniable. Children may be particularly susceptible to stroke injuries because their skeletal system is still growing. Infants are born with about 300 distinct bones, and the process of development and fusion that leads to the approximately 206 bones of a human adult takes place until growth stops around the age of 25. Sadly, in addition to the risk of serious injury, more than 85 children under the age of 12 have died in car accidents every year for the past 5 years, with most deaths totaling 106 in 2014. Many of these results could have been different if the safety seats and restraint systems had been used appropriately. If you`re going on a road trip and need to know about car seat laws for other states or if you`re not familiar with your state`s car seat law, you can see child seat belt laws by state here. A child must be taller than 4`9″ to sit in the front seat of a Texas car.
Once a child is over 4`9″, children can sit in the front seat of a car in Texas with a knee brace or shoulder strap. However, children under the age of 13 should never drive in the front seat of a vehicle with active airbags on the passenger side.